Reduce, reuse, and recycle your pants

Himself is a kindergarten teacher, and this is the only explaination I have for how fast the man can wear through the knees on his pants.  Seriously, there was once a six month period where he went through a new pair of knees every two months.  He was working in a very professional facility and he was wearing through the knees of khaki pants, which are both less sturdy and more expensive than plain old jeans.  And because it was a professional setting, I could only do so much to patch the knees.  Anything sewn on would show through, and that was apparently Not Done.  I got some usage out of those iron-on patches, with the sticky stuff on the back.  But while that could extend the life of the pants, it didn’t work for very long, and he keep making new holes RIGHT next to the hole I had just patched!  Rather like the way I wear through the soles of socks, but that’s a post for another day.  I finally just bough him Dickies double knee pants, with the pocket over the knee to put a knee pad in, but he never used knee pants, just needed the double thick fabric.  (Somewhere, there is a confused web traffic analyst trying to figure out why a tiny blog with no posts for a year suddenly is directing all this traffic to Dickies.)  He grumbled, because you can see the knee patches, but he did wear them for the next year.

Happily, Himself now works at a facility that lets him wear jeans to work.  Seriously, khaki, when working with small children and paint and chocolate and various other viscous and sticky substances?  Anyway, the jeans are sturdier, but they do still wear out.  Three weeks ago, I took two pairs of his jeans to Sewing Circloid and chopped them off just above the knees — and just above the holes — and turned them into shorts.  I took the pant legs, all four of them, and the shorts home, handed over the shorts, and threw the pant legs in a corner, figuring I’d use them for patches or something later.

Skip forward a week, and Himself is bewailing the size and awkwardness of his fencing bag.  Seriously, the thing is up to my shoulder, and I think some of the shorter friends we have could use it as a body bag, if we wanted to be morbid.  It’s not terribly heavy, but it’s big and bulky, and the wheels don’t really help as he drags it to work once a week, and then to fencing practice, and then home again.

He asked me if I could make him a bag of some sort to go over the handle of his sword, and then he was going to tie the PVC pipe to the handle to protect the blade, and sling the whole thing on his back, with his helmet and other gear in a small bag.  I turned and eyed the pant legs in the corner speculatively.

And it worked perfectly.  The leg is just big enough around to fit over the handle and the sticking-out bits, and the PVC pipe with holes drilled it it attached to the handle, and then a strap around the handle over the bag and around the PVC pipe some ways down, and he’s carrying his sword so lightly and easily, and trying not to smack fellow travelers on the bus, before you can say en gardé!

So I made him three of them, for the two swords and the dagger.

0413142312c   0415140805

Then it was time for the last pant leg.  My grandmother loaned me her iPad several months ago, and I use it pretty much constantly.  Books, knitting patterns, random internet searches, and video skyping with my niece.  Well, skyping with my cousin, while she keeps my niece from eating the iPad on their end.  The kid’s not yet one after all.

I will often want to wander off with just my iPad, and not the rest of the STUFF, but I don’t have a bag the right size.  So I knit myself a iPad bag as the first attempt.

0413142308a   0413142309

It’s perfect – except that the yarn is scratchy, and I was thinking of something softer on skin if I want to wander off with my iPad on some lovely spring/summer day.

So, the pant leg.

Turn it inside out.  Sew up the cut edge, leaving what used to be the hem as the opening.  Cut a length of woven ribbon, wide, that’s been sitting around for two years.  Put iPad into pant leg and measure where the fold is.  Pin ribbon there.  Sew.  Sew more.

Bag.

0409142257a

0409142259a

Big enough for iPad and a small knitting project.

At some point, I might add a button or something to close it.

2 Comments

Filed under knitting, sewing

2 responses to “Reduce, reuse, and recycle your pants

  1. Mama

    I clicked for Dickies to help in your confuse and obfuscate mission. Very pretty knitted bag. I like the flap closing as-is on the jean-leg-bag.

Leave a Reply

