Knitting Diamonds, Part 2

Cabled diamonds are fun (seeing Knitting Diamonds, Part 1).  But sometimes I want the lace holes.  Sometimes, such as for a shawl or a lacy sock, I want the diamonds not to pop out, but to be flush with the knitting and still show clearly.  In some ways, making diamond lace is much harder than making diamond cables.  It can be harder to tell at the time if I did the stitches right, and it’s only later, looking back, that I realize I did it all wrong.  And tinking lace is really hard because it’s so easy to drop stitches!  ‘Knit’ spelled backwards becomes ‘tink’, the word for ripping out or undoing knitting.  For this reason, even though I don’t always do it, I try to remember to insert lifelines into my lace.  A piece of yarn or string, or even dental floss, of a different color that my knitting, works very well.  Every ten rows or so, when I am SURE that I have the project right up to that point, I use a sewing needle to pull that lifeline through every single stitch currently on the knitting needles without taking the stitch off the knitting needles.  This means that if I later mess things up, I can tink back to that lifeline, and then the stitches won’t pull out further, and all the stitches are on the lifeline already.  When I remember to do it, it works really well.

Anyway, on to the lace diamonds.  It looks like this.

There are certainly variations on how to do lace diamonds.  I’m knitting a christmas present right now that uses something else entirely from what I’m about to describe.  But I like the look of the bit above, and it’s easy enough to use.  So here’s the chart, made up on Knitting Chart Maker by Jacquie.

 

Ignore the directions on the key after the backslash.  This is a right-side row chart, and everything after the backslash doesn’t apply.

I’ve started the chart at the point where it starts to be knit, and because of this the very first row is slightly different than those that follow.  On the first row, there is no knit-three-together.  All the points where that k3tog happen, the stitch is both the top of a diamond and the bottom of the next.  At the very beginning of the chart, where that stitch would be in only the bottom of the diamond.

A note about knitting diamond lace into socks.  It’s not as stretchy as even plain stockinette stitch, which results in socks with less stretch, which makes them hard to put on sometimes.  Trust me, I know.

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting

Leave a Reply

